The Story of Woman

The Story of Woman

We live in a world built by, and for, men. Our existing systems and hierarchies stem from a long history of excluding women. So what happens when half the population is shoehorned into a male-based infrastructure?

Featuring interviews with those who explore our world through the female gaze, The Story of Woman podcast looks at everything from the economy, healthcare, gender roles, and more. Each episode dives deep into where we are, how we got here, and what still needs to be changed in order to (finally) rewrite the story of mankind to become the story of humankind.

To us, ‘woman’ means all those who presently identify as such - regardless of which body they were born with. This includes other marginalized genders such as those who identify as non-binary, gender fluid, or anywhere else on the spectrum of gender.

https://www.thestoryofwomanpodcast.com/

S3 E8. From Doubt to Belief: The Evolution of #MeToo and Survivor Testimony with Leigh Gilmore
February 26, 202401:02:15

S3 E8. From Doubt to Belief: The Evolution of #MeToo and Survivor Testimony with Leigh Gilmore

The #MeToo movement empowered millions to speak out about sexual violence and changed the default response to women's accounts from universal doubt to selective belief. What changed? In this episode, guest host Sarey Ruden ( http://www.sareytales.com/) speaks with Leigh Gilmore ( https://projectnarr...

S3 E7. Navigating Motherhood in the Age of Surveillance with the creators of Supervision
February 19, 202400:50:24

S3 E7. Navigating Motherhood in the Age of Surveillance with the creators of Supervision

How does the rise of AI and surveillance intersect with motherhood? In this episode, Sophie Hamacher ( https://mitpress.mit.edu/author/sophie-hamacher-39050/) and Jessica Hankey ( https://mitpress.mit.edu/author/jessica-hankey-40057/), creators of the groundbreaking anthology, Supervision: On Mother...

S3E6. From Beauty Ideals to Empowering Stories: A Conversation with Glamour's UK EIC, Deborah Joseph
February 12, 202400:44:43

S3E6. From Beauty Ideals to Empowering Stories: A Conversation with Glamour's UK EIC, Deborah Joseph

In this episode, guest host Joanna Cummings ( https://joannacummings.co.uk/) takes the reins to interview Deborah Joseph ( https://www.glamourmagazine.co.uk/profile/deborah-joseph), the UK Editor in Chief of Glamour Magazine ( https://www.glamourmagazine.co.uk/). The discussion delves into the evolv...

S3 E5. From Ancient Bottles to Modern Struggles: A Deep Dive into Breastfeeding with Joanna Wolfarth
February 05, 202400:59:04

S3 E5. From Ancient Bottles to Modern Struggles: A Deep Dive into Breastfeeding with Joanna Wolfarth

In what ways has breastfeeding been shaped by culture and history? Join us as we unravel the complex terrain in this episode featuring Joanna Wolfarth ( https://www.joannawolfarth.com/), author of Milk: An Intimate History of Breastfeeding. Joanna delves into the historical evolution of breastfeedin...

S3E4.Shattering the Six Gender Bias Barriers Still Holding Women Back at Work, A Diehl & L Dzubinski
January 29, 202400:56:25

S3E4.Shattering the Six Gender Bias Barriers Still Holding Women Back at Work, A Diehl & L Dzubinski

You may have heard of the glass ceiling, but have you heard of the glass walls? In this episode, Amy Diehl ( https://amy-diehl.com/) and Leanne Dzubinski ( https://asburyseminary.edu/faculty/leanne-dzubinski/) discuss the pervasive issue of gender bias in the workplace, highlighting the six walls th...

S3 E3: How Neuroscience is Rewriting the Story of Parenthood with Chelsea Conaboy
January 22, 202400:55:07

S3 E3: How Neuroscience is Rewriting the Story of Parenthood with Chelsea Conaboy

Ever wondered if the so-called "maternal instinct" is a scientific reality or a societal construct? Join guest host Monica Cardenas ( https://monicacardenas.com/) as she delves into the fascinating world of neuroscience with Chelsea Conaboy ( https://www.chelseaconaboy.com/), author of Mother Brain:...

S3E2.Breaking Boundaries: Women Who Dressed Like Men to Do Shit They Weren't Supposed to Do, Tracy D
January 15, 202400:55:43

S3E2.Breaking Boundaries: Women Who Dressed Like Men to Do Shit They Weren't Supposed to Do, Tracy D

Ever wonder about the women who defied conventions by wearing the pants—quite literally? In this episode, comedy writer and actress Tracy Dawson ( https://tracydawson.net/) highlight trailblazers throughout history who disguised themselves as men to gain access and opportunities denied them simply b...

S3 E1. From Trauma to Transformation: Empowering Women and Healing the Planet with Zainab Salbi
January 08, 202401:03:52

S3 E1. From Trauma to Transformation: Empowering Women and Healing the Planet with Zainab Salbi

Explore the transformative moments that have defined Zainab Salbi's ( http://zainabsalbi.com/) journey from war-torn Iraq under Saddam Hussein's regime to becoming a global advocate for empowering women survivors. In this compelling episode, Zainab Salbi, a renowned humanitarian, author, and journal...

SPECIAL: The Story of Woman Goes Global: Women Deliver, The Largest Convening for Gender Equality
September 18, 202300:56:57

SPECIAL: The Story of Woman Goes Global: Women Deliver, The Largest Convening for Gender Equality

What are the most pressing issues women and girls still face today? What progress has been made in recent years? How are gender equality champions driving change around the world? In this special episode, host Anna travels to Kigali, Rwanda for the Women Deliver 2023 Conference ( https://www.wd2023....

S2 E14. Woman & Change: Intersectionality with Cecilia Chung, Transgender Rights & HIV/AIDS Advocate
June 05, 202300:51:58

S2 E14. Woman & Change: Intersectionality with Cecilia Chung, Transgender Rights & HIV/AIDS Advocate

In this episode, guest host Asha Dahya speaks with Cecilia Chung ( https://www.ceciliachung.com/), a barrier-breaking advocate for transgender rights and people living with HIV. Cecilia shares her personal journey as a trans woman, from her upbringing in Hong Kong to her move to the United States in...